Female Empowerment
    African Literature, Film and Arts
    Conscious Music
    Sci-Fi

• Are you African: Y
  • Cultural Heritage:
    Yoruba (Nigeria)

Posted 12 July 2012 - 08:03 PM

This beautiful spirit joined the Ancestors after violently being taken from us following her return home from the UK. She had been there just over a year.

I start this new forum at the same time you are being committed to soil in St Vincent in memory of your creativity, passion and genuinely kind and loving nature.

We miss you.

As you join the Ancestors may they be pleased with your work.

Posted Image

About me

I am a painter, jewellery designer and sculptor living in London. I began my career as an artist in the mid-eighties designing multimedia material for warehouse parties, clubs and stage shows. During this time my work took me to Japan, Australia, North America and europe where my interest in the arts grew and I began to express myself through painting and sculpture.
Growing up in London has shaped my work and the city is a great place to live and create.The biggest impact on my working technique came through the first visit to my homeland of St Vincent. I was completely overwhelmed by the vibrancy of colour and richness of the culture, something that I had expressed previously in my painting without understanding where the inspiration had come from. This visit inspired me to paint more frequently. I later traveled to Senegal and The Gambia which gave greater meaning and understanding to my work. I spent six months working with artists and sculptors and have made many return visits

More than anything I love to travel, sit on a beach, catch fish, eat, read and make things.
I have a BA in Jewellery Design from Central St Martins. During the time studying my paintings took on a sculptural quality with many of the pieces showing the delicacy of fine jewellery and a sculptural quality in the form of collage, print and surface decoration.